“It isn’t what you have or who you are or where you are or what you are doing that makes you happy or unhappy. It is what you think about it.”
Dale Carnegie, How to Win Friends and Influence People

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

Recently, after much self-examination, I realized that part of my happiness has been missing. Not that it just disappeared overnight, no. It has been going on and off for as long as I can remember. It is just that I decided at this moment that it is high time I took all of it back. If I can have most of my happiness at all times, why settle for less?

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

This less than average availability of my happiness is why I get easily annoyed with people, situations and stuffs, is why I am short tempered and impatient. I get easily irritated and read double meaning into trivial things, making me tend to jump to conclusions. Do not cross my path when this war is going on.“Misery is almost always the result of thinking” says Joseph Joubert. So you say something offensive to me, I muse on it, chew it this way and that, analyse it and then end up angry, why do I do that?

“Happiness in intelligent people is the rarest thing I know.”Ernest Hemingway. Could that be true? I do not know
WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

I may not become violent, but you may wish I would just become violent and hit you or something. It doesn’t actually last anyway, except when I decide to sulk, but these episodes can be short and recurring. They say I laugh as much as I vex, I guess they are not far from the truth. I have tried to change this status quo, but it aint worked so well so far. So I have decided to tell you about it. Sometimes I wonder how people tolerate me and my temper.

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

I have embarked on a quest, not just to locate my happiness but to grab it back, by force if need be. The distance of the location does not matter; neither does the location itself matter. I must find my happiness.

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

I am telling you this in case you know who stole the rest of my happiness or the way to get to it back. You need to know that I need at least ninety percent of this my happiness back in the shortest possible time, by any means possible. ‘If you search the world for happiness, you may find it in the end, for the world is round and will lead you back to your door’. – Robert Brault, (rbrault.blogspot.com)

WHO STOLE MY HAPPINESS?

You say what? Stop whispering; say it louder so I can hear properly. Oh, now I get it. You think that the happiness eluding me is still within me? Mon ami, how is that possible? If that were true, I would have found it since, in fact, I would not be looking for it in the first place. Democritus you say? Oh, he said that “Happiness resides not in possessions and not in gold, happiness dwells in the soul”. Hmm, ok, but how come I can only access it some of the time, why not all the time if it is within my soul? How do I retrieve it from this soul of mine if indeed it has been dwelling there? I always thought that someone or something has stolen it.

I STOLE MY HAPPINESS!

“The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance; the wise grows it under his feet”. – James Openheim. This wise saying aptly tells me all I need to know, that I was and I am in possession of my happiness and no one else. The thief is not in what I have or do not have; my happiness does not lie in how people treat me or what they say about me. According to Charles Caleb Colton, “To be obliged to beg our daily happiness from others bespeaks a more lamentable poverty than that of him who begs his daily bread”. How can I think to put my happiness in the hands and pockets of others?

“Indeed, man wishes to be happy even when he so lives as to make happiness impossible” says St. Augustine. That is what I have been doing when it should be the other way round. I let trivial external forces determine my happiness which they do because I gave them the power to. Why should I give you power over me by letting you annoy me?

Nobody really cares if you’re miserable, so you might as well be happy”. – Cynthia Nelms. The ‘annoyer’ moves happily away on to better things, like an annoying mosquito, while I sit and fume and stew in anger and bitterness. If that isn’t insanity, tell me what is.
“Happiness is a matter of one’s most ordinary and everyday mode of consciousness being busy and lively and unconcerned with self” says Iris Murdoch. There lies the solution, being unconcerned with self and yes, with others too, not concerning myself with what they say or do not say, what they do or do not do.
Abraham Lincoln summarized it all, “Folks are usually about as happy as they make their minds up to be.” So I tell you now, I have made up my mind to be as happy as a child, day in, day out. That is my project from this moment. Care to join me if you belong to my group?
“For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.”  –
Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Think about that!

