INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY 2015

“When we unleash the power of women, we can secure the future for all”. – Ban Ki-moon in his International Women’s Day message 2015.

When I look around at all the poverty and suffering in our society especially with the women, I imagine a situation where all these suffering women are empowered. It would be a better wordl. That is what this year’s theme is all about. Those who said that if you train a female, you train the nation are not far from the truth because such empowerment has rippling effect.

This year, I want to enjoin all of us to use this medium to appreciate any woman who has made or is making an impact in your life or in your environment in whatever capacity, no matter how insignificant it may seem.

I know quite a number of them. Top on my list is my dearest mum, my heroine, my pillar, a wonderfully inspiring and strong woman of virtue. I hail thee dearest mum, you rock my world, any day, any time.

CHIMAMANDA ADICHIE. She is an amazing, award winning writer. I have a real soft spot for her and what she stands for.

adichie_sheehan

I was even more intrigued when I read that she grew up in the house previously owned by another world acclaimed writer of repute, late Professor Chinua Achebe. Could that be part of the inspiration I wonder. Here is what she said about Achebe in an interview with Dana Tunca, “… Chinua Achebe will always be important to me because his work influenced not so much my style as my writing philosophy: reading him emboldened me, gave me permission to write about the things I know well.

Some of her works include Purple Hibiscus, Half of a Yellow Sun, Americanah and The Thing around your Neck. Chimamanda is an inspiration to many youngsters because we can identify with her and her Nigerian background. She is doing Nigeria proud home and away as attested to by the many awards she has won already and she is only 38! BRAVO SISTER!

FUNMI IYANDA is a journalist that influenced me profoundly in my university years. I fell in love with her passion and excellence for her course. I remember sometimes she used to bring tears to my eyes with her programme, New Dawn with Funmi on NTA in those days.

FUNMI IYANDA

FUNMI IYANDA

Funmi is a fearless broadcaster per excellence, columnist, a philanthropist, a human rights activist, remembering she was involved in UN’s five day climb up Mount Kilimanjero to raise global awareness on its campaign to end Violence against Women and Girls in 2012.  Funmi can be found everywhere there is good to be done, especially for the vulnerable in the society. She provides succor for the  less privileged youth and women.

She has won numerous awards including Young Global Leader Award of the World Economic Forum, among others.

Her words concerning violence against women, “Men who beat their women should be excommunicated from churches.

FLORA NWAPA! I just love her. She was the first Nigerian female novelist, a publisher, an educationist and administrator. During the Nigerian Civil War, she was a force to be reckoned with in fighting for peace and reuniting refugee children with their families. She was a powerful man that  strolled where some men fear to tread so much so that she was crowned Ogbuefi by her people, a title given only to the bravest of men, never women. Her literary proficiency however was what brought her to international limelight. If you attended secondary school in Nigeria and have not read some of her books like Efuru, One is Enough, and Never Again, then you are yet to arrive.

FLORA NWAPA

FLORA NWAPA

Her words; “When I do write about women in Nigeria, in Africa, I try to paint a positive picture about women because there are many women who are very, very independent and very, very industrious”. She saw herself as a ‘Womanist’ rather than a feminist.

Although she is late, her legacy lives on; she sure left her footsteps in the sands of time.

I also admire the likes of young Marilyn Anona of Omaliving Show and PoshMarilyn blog.

She was among the people that inspired me to take this leap into the blogosphere. She is a writer, a motivator, an achiever, a fighter. Ride on Ada Anambra.

Other women like Omotola Jolade Ekeinde the renowned actress, Linda Ikeji the famous blogger, Oluchi Orlando the model, Adesuwa Onynokwe the veteran journalist and a host of others, I appreciate for letting us light our fires from theirs.

I doff my cap to them, they are achievers, they have inspired and mentored many of us. They have shined like diamonds in a world dominated by men and that is no mean feat.

God bless women.

God bless the Nigerian woman

God bless the mothers of the land

You have the opportunity to give a shout out to the women you appreciate, women who have influenced you. You can honour them here with me.

Oopps! Am I not forgetting someone? Of course, the list is incomplete without Ebele Nweje of Alluring n Young. Hhahahaahaa. DUH!

